Dislike

I don’t know why, but I very rarely read books I dislike. Whether it’s that I know my own tastes, or get my recommendations from decent places, I’m not sure. But it’s not often I dislike a book, or that halfway through I feel like I’d be wasting my time finishing it.

However… recently I read “One Day” by David Nicholls. I know it’s been made into what looks from the trailer to be an awful film, but the book came covered in recommendations from publications and authors, and I saw it in the library and thought I’d give it a try.

It was tedious. Halfway through I almost gave up but was assured that it got better. It doesn’t, not really. I had no problem with the quality of the writing, I thought it was well-written. But that made it more disappointing really – he can write well and the concept is quite an interesting one – following the two characters over twenty years of their lives – but the issue was that the two main characters were awful. If you’re basing your entire story on two characters, then you’d better make sure that they’re either likable or interesting. These two were neither. They’re tedious and irritating. One of them is selfish and I felt like if I met him I wouldn’t want to spend ten minutes with him. The other is pathetic and has no self esteem. Neither were interesting. 

Image

Also, the ending was extremely predictable. And seemed kind of lazy, like he couldn’t think of a way to end the book so decided to use the predictable plot device. I won’t say what it is, in case you really want to waste hours of your life reading it yourself. I wouldn’t advise it.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

